Advancing New Hampshire Public Education

Home » Bills » Here are the roll-call votes on HB 1636. Please. Express your appreciation to House members who opposed this debilitating voucher program.

Here are the roll-call votes on HB 1636. Please. Express your appreciation to House members who opposed this debilitating voucher program.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Actually, we’ll present these votes differently from in the past.  There were two votes on HB 1636 on Thursday.  The first was on the motion, “Non-concur, committee of conference.”  The second was just “Non-concur.”  We had urged House members in numerous one-on-one conversations to oppose both motions, for the reasons we outlined here.  The complete official tally of each vote is available here.  We will use this post to highlight those we should thank for voting with us.

Here is an edit of what our campaign coordinator emailed our communicators after the vote:

Let’s be sure to appreciate the Republicans who said no to leadership and did what they thought was right.  And let’s also thank the Democrats who have stood up for public education all along.

Below are the Republicans who bucked leadership and helped defeat the voucher bill.  Please call or email to thank these legislators.  If you’re a constituent, call him/her and maybe a few more, besides.  It’s fun to make thank you calls, and the reps. like getting them.

If you don’t know who your rep. is, go here.

Here are some talking points but, really, say what you feel.

  • Thank you for voting non-concur on the education savings account bill on May 10.
  • Thank you for protecting taxpayers from the enormous burden that would have been imposed on them by the bill.
  • Thank you for voting against a bill that would have drained the public schools of resources.
  • Thank you for standing up for kids with special needs by defeating this bill.
  • Thank you for defeating a bill that would have spent public money with insufficient public oversight and no real quality control.
  • Thanks for standing up for taxpayers and public schools!

Republicans who voted to kill HB1636 in either one or both of the votes:

  1. Barry, Richard (603) 880-3731  richard.barry@leg.state.nh.us
  2. Bean, Philip  (603) 502-7755   philip.bean@leg.state.nh.us
  3. Belanger, James  (603) 465-230  jim.belanger@leg.state.nh.us
  4. Crawford, Karel  (603) 253-7857 karel.crawford@leg.state.nh.us
  5. Darrow, Stephen (603)523-4678  stephen.darrow@leg.state.nh.us
  6. Elliott, Robert  (603) 893-0402 bob.elliott@leg.state.nh.us
  7. Gargasz, Carolyn  (603) 465-7463  carolyn.gargasz@leg.state.nh.us
  8. Grenier, James J (603) 863-5681 jimgreniersullivan7@gmail.com
  9. Guthrie, Joseph  (603) 489-1228 joseph.guthrie@leg.state.nh.us
  10. Ham, Bonnie  603) 348-7408  bdham@roadrunner.com
  11. Kurk, Neal  (603) 529-7253  rep03281@aol.com
  12. Laware, Thomas  (603) 826-3137 thomas.laware@leg.state.nh.us
  13. Lebrun, Donald (603) 886-1725  donald.lebrun@leg.state.nh.us
  14. Long, Douglas  (603) 927-4137 longbroscon@mcttelecom.com
  15. MacKay, Mariellen  (603) 577-8932 mariellen.mackay@leg.state.nh.us
  16. Marsh, William  (603) 569-6382  William.Marsh@leg.state.nh.us
  17. McCarthy, Michael  (603) 598-4966  mike.mccarthy@leg.state.nh.us
  18. Merner, Troy  (603)788-3048  merner08@aol.com
  19. Pierce, David (603) 497-8278  david.w.pierce@leg.state.nh.us
  20. Richardson, Herbert   (603) 788-2442 honhdr@yahoo.com
  21. Rollins, Skip  (603) 863-6340  skip@lavalleys.com
  22. Scruton, Matthew  (603) 941-4956 matthew.Scruton@leg.state.nh.us
  23. Sterling, Franklin  (603) 532-8284  fwsterling@comcast.net
  24. Theberge, Robert  (603) 752-5672 robert.theberge@leg.state.nh.us
  25. Webb, James (603) 845-3454  james.webb@leg.state.nh.us
  26. Willis, Brenda   (603) 434-9093 brenda.willis@leg.state.nh.us
  27. Wolf, Dan  (603) 763-5176 dan.Wolf@leg.state.nh.us

If your rep is a Democrat, please thank him/her as well. All Democrats who attended Thursday’s House session opposed HB 1636 and are listed below.  Again, feel free to contact as many as you can.

Michael Abbott (603) 336-7090 Michael.Abbott@leg.state.nh.us
Richard Abel (603) 790-8365 Richard.Abel@leg.state.nh.us
Susan Almy (603) 448-4769 susan.almy@comcast.net
Debra Altschiller (603) 686-1234 debra.altschiller@leg.state.nh.us
Richard Ames (603) 532-6781 Richard.Ames@leg.state.nh.us
Robert Backus (603) 232-0525 Bob.Backus@leg.state.nh.us
Benjamin Baroody (603) 627-1122 ben.baroody@leg.state.nh.us
Christy Bartlett (603) 224-3172 christydbartlett@gmail.com
Travis Bennett (603) 686-0625 travis.bennett@leg.state.nh.us
Paul Berch (603) 399-4960 pberch@myfairpoint.net
Skip Berrien (603) 580-1240 skip.berrien@leg.state.nh.us
Roger Berube (603) 692-5653 rogerrberube@hotmail.com
Peter Bixby (603) 749-5659 Peter.Bixby@leg.state.nh.us
John Bordenet (603) 352-0680 John.Bordenet@leg.state.nh.us
Amanda Bouldin (603) 494-8689 Amanda.Bouldin@leg.state.nh.us
Thomas Buco (603) 986-5629 Tom.Buco@leg.state.nh.us
Delmar Burridge (603) 352-5363 dburridge@ne.rr.com
Wayne Burton (603) 868-5037 Wayne.Burton@leg.state.nh.us
Edward Butler (603) 374-6131 edofthenotch@gmail.com
Michael Cahill (603) 380-1736 Michael.Cahill@leg.state.nh.us
Jacqueline Cali-Pitts (603) 431-7657 cali0917@aol.com
Polly Campion (603) 643-2837 Polly.Campion@leg.state.nh.us
Clyde Carson (603) 456-2562 Clyde.Carson@leg.state.nh.us
Shannon Chandley (603) 672-6540 Shannon.Chandley.NH@aol.com
Jacalyn Cilley (603) 664-5597 jackie.cilley@leg.state.nh.us
John Cloutier (603) 542-6190 jocloutier@comcast.net
Casey Conley
Erika Connors
David Cote (603) 882-2244 David.Cote@leg.state.nh.us
Robert Renny Cushing (603) 926-2737 renny.cushing@leg.state.nh.us
Edith DesMarais (603) 569-2512 Edith.DesMarais@leg.state.nh.us
Charlotte DiLorenzo (603) 659-2140 Charlotte.DiLorenzo@leg.state.nh.us
Linda DiSilvestro (603) 645-6729 Linda.Disilvestro@leg.state.nh.us
David Doherty (603) 485-2788 David.Doherty@leg.state.nh.us
Roger Dontonville (603) 632-7719 rdontonville@gmail.com
Daniel Eaton (603) 446-3535 Daniel.Eaton@leg.state.nh.us
Karen Ebel (603) 748-3876 Karen.Ebel@leg.state.nh.us
Michael Edgar 603-926-1878 Michael.Edgar@leg.state.nh.us
Joel Elber (603) 232-3898 Joel.Elber@leg.state.nh.us
Donna Ellis (603) 332-5266 donna.ellis@leg.state.nh.us
Betsey Farnham (603) 580-2586 efarnham@exeter.edu
Barry Faulkner (603) 352-2729 fbfaulkner@outlook.com
Timothy Fontneau (603) 332-0607 timffornh@yahoo.com
Armand Forest (603) 669-0646 Armand.Forest@leg.state.nh.us
Paula Francese (603) 778-1726 Paula.Francese@leg.state.nh.us
Mary Freitas (603) 622-9056 Mary.Freitas@leg.state.nh.us
Sherry Frost (978) 255-3924 Sherry.Frost@leg.state.nh.us
Raymond Gagnon (603) 542-7286 Raymond.Gagnon@leg.state.nh.us
Kenneth Gidge (603) 888-2355 cell: 603-864-9332 Kenneth.Gidge@leg.state.nh.us
Mary Gile (603) 224-2278 Mary.Gile@leg.state.nh.us
Julie Gilman (603) 580-1393 gilmanjd@comcast.net
Jeffrey Goley (603) 626-6659 jgoley03104@yahoo.com
Pamela Gordon (603) 319-8398 Pamela.Gordon@leg.state.nh.us
Suzanne Gottling (603) 763-5904 sgottling@comcast.net
Amanda Gourgue (603) 397-0505 Amanda.Gourgue@leg.state.nh.us
Chuck Grassie (603) 332-8562 Chuck.Grassie@leg.state.nh.us
Cathryn Harvey (603) 363-4424 Cathryn.Harvey@leg.state.nh.us
Suzanne Harvey (603) 598-0582 Suzanne.Harvey@leg.state.nh.us
William Hatch (603) 466-9491 William.Hatch@leg.state.nh.us
Mary Heath (603) 622-0895 Mary.Heath@leg.state.nh.us
Christopher Herbert (603) 669-2838 Chris.Herbert@leg.state.nh.us
Patricia Higgins (603) 643-3989 patricia.higgins@leg.state.nh.us
Timothy Horrigan (603) 868-3342 Timothy.Horrigan@leg.state.nh.us
David Huot (603) 524-7641 david.huot@leg.state.nh.us
Virginia Irwin (603) 863-3582 Virginia.Irwin@leg.state.nh.us
Martin Jack (603) 318-0457 Martin.Jack@leg.state.nh.us
Jean Jeudy (603) 645-5290 jean.jeudy@leg.state.nh.us
Gladys Johnsen (603) 358-5164 johnsengladys@gmail.com
Timothy Josephson (603) 523-2023 Timothy.Josephson@leg.state.nh.us
Amelia Keane (603) 320-9890 amelia.keane@leg.state.nh.us
Sandra Keans (603) 332-3472 sandra.keans@yahoo.com
Linda Kenison (603) 228-8348 Linda.Kenison@leg.state.nh.us
Mark King (603) 998-2400 Mark.King@leg.state.nh.us
Patricia Klee (603) 966-0979 Patricia.Klee@leg.state.nh.us
Jerry Knirk (617) 448-7557 knirknhhouse@gmail.com
Hamilton Krans (603) 742-0761
Larry Laflamme (603) 752-1861 laflamme@ne.rr.com
Tamara Le (603) 964-6403 Tamara.Le@leg.state.nh.us
Peter Leishman (603) 924-0004 prleishman@aol.com
Kari Lerner (603) 548-8497
Douglas Ley (603) 532-8556 Douglas.Ley@leg.state.nh.us
David Lisle (603) 556-0485 David.Lisle@leg.state.nh.us
Patrick Long (603) 668-1037 long55@comcast.net
Patricia Lovejoy (603) 778-9662 Patricia.Lovejoy@leg.state.nh.us
David Luneau (603) 746-6484 dluneauNH@gmail.com
James MacKay (603) 224-0623 james.mackay@mygait.com
Mark MacKenzie (603) 782-8519 mackenziedist17@gmail.com
Kevin Maes (603) 786-9705 Kevin.Maes@leg.state.nh.us
Dennis Malloy (603) 970-1827 dennis.malloy@leg.state.nh.us
Latha Mangipudi (603) 891-1239 Latha.Mangipudi@leg.state.nh.us
Jonathan Manley (603) 588-2427 Jonathan.Manley@leg.state.nh.us
John Mann (603) 835-9095 john.mann@leg.state.nh.us
Joelle Martin (603) 836-4356 Joelle.Martin@leg.state.nh.us
Jesse Martineau (603) 540-2428 jess.martineau@leg.state.nh.us
Linda Massimilla (603) 444-5270 Linda.Massimilla@leg.state.nh.us
Richard McNamara (603) 933-2919 Richard.McNamara@leg.state.nh.us
David Meader (603) 357-1340 meader281@gmail.com
Mindi Messmer (603) 498-8847 Mindi.Messmer@leg.state.nh.us
Howard Moffett (603) 783-4993 Howard.Moffett@leg.state.nh.us
Mary Jane Mulligan (603) 643-6167 maryjane.mulligan@leg.state.nh.us
Kate Murray (603) 501-8989 Kate.Murray@leg.state.nh.us
Mel Myler (603) 746-5294 Mel.Myler@leg.state.nh.us
Sue Newman (603) 880-8973 snewmannh@aol.com
Sharon Nordgren (603) 643-5068 Sharon.Nordgren@leg.state.nh.us
Michael O’Brien (603) 888-8051 Michael.O’Brien@leg.state.nh.us
Richard O’Leary (603) 668-0069 richardoleary646@gmail.com
Linn Opderbecke (603) 742-4119
Lee Oxenham (603) 727-9368 Lee.Oxenham@leg.state.nh.us
Laura Pantelakos (603) 436-2148 lcpantelakos@comcast.net
Henry Parkhurst (603) 239-8945 Hank.Parkhurst@leg.state.nh.us
Dick Patten (603) 228-1803 Dick.Patten@leg.state.nh.us
Marjorie Porter (603) 464-0225 Marjorie.Porter@leg.state.nh.us
Steven Rand (603) 236-6587 rstevenrand@yahoo.com
Ellen Read (978) 352-0969 Ellen.Read@leg.state.nh.us
Beth Richards (603) 219-0038 bethrichardsforward3@gmail.com
Carol Roberts (603) 654-6922 Carol.Roberts@leg.state.nh.us
Beth Rodd (603) 938-2692 Beth.Rodd@leg.state.nh.us
Katherine Rogers Katherine.Rogers@leg.state.nh.us
Cindy Rosenwald (603) 595-9896 Cindy.Rosenwald@leg.state.nh.us
Jeffrey Salloway (603) 868-1726
Catt Sandler (603) 343-2005
Janice Schmidt (603) 880-6060 Jan.Schmidt@leg.state.nh.us
Peter Schmidt (603) 743-3751 peterbarrettschmidt@gmail.com
Dianne Schuett (603) 224-0314 Dianne.Schuett@leg.state.nh.us
Kristina Schultz (603) 856-7279 Kris.Schultz@leg.state.nh.us
Barbara Shaw (603) 626-4681 beshaw3@comcast.net
Marjorie Shepardson (603) 876-4027 marge.shepardson@gmail.com
Stephen Shurtleff (603)753-4563 steve.shurtleff@leg.state.nh.us
Marjorie Smith (603) 868-7500 msmithpen@aol.com
Suzanne Smith (603) 715-0086 suzanne.smith@leg.state.nh.us
Timothy Smith (603) 657-0324 Tim.Smith@leg.state.nh.us
Catherine Sofikitis 603-465-8163 catherine4Ward7@gmail.com
Peter Somssich (603) 436-5221 Peter.Somssich@leg.state.nh.us
Timothy Soucy (603) 305-5012 Tim.Soucy@leg.state.nh.us
Daniel Sullivan (603) 627-5044 Dan.Sullivan@leg.state.nh.us
Brian Sullivan
George Sykes (603) 448-0319, cell: (603)-667-1834 George.Sykes@leg.state.nh.us
Linda Tanner (603) 763-4471 linda.tanner@leg.state.nh.us
Bruce Tatro (603) 352-3904 bruce.tatro@leg.state.nh.us
Yvonne Thomas (603) 752-1816 yvonne.thomas@leg.state.nh.us
Edith Tucker (603) 466-5425
Alan Turcotte (603) 485-2349 alanturcotte4rep@gmail.com
Connie Van Houten (603) 622-9701 Constance.VanHouten@leg.state.nh.us
Ivy Vann (603) 533-0357 Ivy.Vann@leg.state.nh.us
Kenneth Vincent (603) 396-4120 KVincentNHrep@comcast.net
Janet Wall (603) 749-3051 janet.wall@leg.state.nh.us
Mary Jane Wallner (603) 225-5249 Maryjane.Wallner@leg.state.nh.us
Mary Beth Walz (603) 225-1968 mbwalz@leg.state.nh.us
Gerald Ward (603) 436-6142 ward4staterep@gmail.com
Lucy Weber (603) 756-4338 lwmcv@comcast.net
Andrew White (603) 722-0348 andrew.white@leg.state.nh.us
Kermit Williams (603) 654-7684 kermit.williams@leg.state.nh.us
David Woolpert (603) 428-7533 dave@freewoolie.com

1 Comment

  1. jgittell says:

    Congrats and thank you so much for your hard work on defeating this voucher bill.

    Jody Hoffer Gittell Visiting Professor, Harvard Graduate School of Education Professor, Brandeis University, Heller School Executive Director, Relational Coordination Research Collaborative Chief Scientific Officer, Relational Coordination Analytics (603) 498-1305 http://rcrc.brandeis.edu http://rcanalytic.com

    Join us for the 8th Annual RCRC Roundtable September 27 & 28, 2018 Relational Dynamics of Multi-Level Systems Change Cambridge, MA

    >

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s